# DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATIONS, ENERGY AND NATURAL RESOURCES FISHERIES ACTS 1959 TO 2010

#### **ANGLING BYE-LAW NO. 913, 2013**

- I, Fergus O'Dowd, Minister of State at the Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 57 of the Inland Fisheries Act 2010 (No. 10 of 2010) and the Energy and Natural Resources (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) (No. 2) Order 2011 (S.I. No. 631 of 2011), at the request of Inland Fisheries Ireland, and having complied with Regulations 27 and 42 of the European Communities (Birds and Natural Habitats) Regulations 2011 (S.I. No. 477 of 2011), hereby make the following bye-law:
- 1. (1) This Bye-law may be cited as the Angling Bye-law No. 913, 2013.
  - (2) This Bye-law comes into operation on 1 January 2014.
  - 2. Notwithstanding anything contained in any Bye-law, it is prohibited for a person to use or attempt to use worms as bait or any fish hooks, other than single barbless hooks, in angling for any kind of fish in the waters of a river mentioned in column (2) of the Schedule opposite the mention of a fishery district in column (1) of the Schedule.
  - 3. Angling Bye-law No. 907, 2013 is revoked.

## Schedule

## Article 2

Fishery District	River
(1)	(2)
	Liffey (excluding upstream of Pollaphuca
	dam and the River Dodder)
No. 1 or Dublin District	Dargle
	Vartry
	Avoca
No. 2 or Wexford District	Owenavorragh
	Slaney
	Owenduff
	Mahon
No. 3 or Waterford District	Tay
	Colligan
	Corrock
No. 4 or Lismore District	Lickey
	Tourig
	Womanagh
	Bride

No. 5 or Cork District	Adrigole
No. 7 or Kerry District	Owenshagh Finnihy Cloonee Owenreagh Emlaghmore Carhan Emlagh Lee (Kerry) Behy Ferta Owenascaul Milltown Feohanagh Kealincha Lough Fada Blackwater

	T
No. 8 or Limerick District	Deel Skivaleen Aughyvackeen Doonbeg Annageeragh Inagh Maigue
No. 9(1) or Galway District	Clarinbridge  Knock  Aille  Owenboliska, Spiddal
No. 9(2) or Connemara District	Lough na Furnace
No. 10(1) or Ballinakill District	Carrownisky

No. 10 (2) or Bangor District	Shramore Owengarve Muingnabo Owenmore R.
No. 11 or Ballina District  No. 12 Sligo District	Brusna  Leaffony  Ballinglen  Cloonaghmore, Palmerstown  Grange
No. 13 or Ballyshannon District	Abbey  Ballintra (Murvagh) – (downstream of junction of Ballintra and Bridgetown Rivers).  Laghy (Stream)  Bungosteen  Oily  Owenwee (Yellow)

	Isle (Burn) Mill
	Clonmany
	Straid
	Owenamarve
	Swilly
No. 14 or Letterkenny Distrct	Donagh
	Culoort
	Lackagh
	Leannan
	Glenna
	Ray
	Bracky
	Glenagannon
No. 17(1) or Drogheda District	Boyne (the main channel downstream of Leinster Bridge)  Kells Blackwater (downstream of the Nine Eyed Bridge)

	Castletown
No. 17(2) or Dundalk District	Dee (that part of the river downstream of
	Cappogue Bridge)
	Flurry

GIVEN under my hand,

17 December 2013.

## FERGUS O'DOWD

Fergus O'Dowd,

Minister of State at the Department of Communications,

Energy and Natural Resources.

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This is not part of the Bye-law and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

This Bye-law prohibits the use of any fish hooks, other than single barbless hooks, and also prohibits the use of worms as bait in angling for all species of fish in the waters specified in the Bye-law and revokes Angling Bye-law No. 907, 2013.

#### **FOOTNOTE**

Section 57 (7) of the Inland Fisheries Act, 2010 provides that any person aggrieved by this Bye-law may within 28 days after its publication in the Iris Oifigiúil, appeal against same to the High Court.