DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATIONS, CLIMATE ACTION AND ENVIRONMENT INLAND FISHERIES ACTS 1959 TO 2010

CONSERVATION OF SALMON AND SEA TROUT (CLOSED RIVERS) BYE-LAW NO. C.S 321, 2016

I, Sean Kyne, Minister of State at the Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 57 of the Inland Fisheries Act 2010 (No. 10 of 2010) and the Energy and Natural Resources (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2016 (S.I. No.420 of 2016) (as adapted by the Communications, Energy and Natural Resources (Alteration of Name of Department and Title of Minister) Order 2016 (S.I. No. 421 of 2016)), hereby make the following bye-law:

- (1) This Bye-law may be cited as the Conservation of Salmon and Sea Trout (Closed Rivers) Bye-law No. C.S. 321, 2016.
 - (2) This Bye-law comes into operation on 1 January 2017.
- 2. In this Bye-law -

"salmon" means fish of the species Salmo salar (Atlantic salmon);

"sea trout" means fish of the migratory form of *Salmo trutta*, but does not include a sea trout which is 40 centimetres or less in length measured in a straight line from the tip of the snout to the fork of the tail.

3. Notwithstanding anything contained in any bye-law fixing the annual close season, it is prohibited for a person to take, or attempt to take, by rod and line any salmon or sea trout from the waters of a river mentioned in column (2) of the Schedule opposite mention of a fishery district in column (1) of that Schedule.

4. The Conservation of Salmon and Sea Trout (Closed Rivers) Bye-law No. C.S. 320, 2015 is revoked.

Schedule

Article 3

Fishery District	River
(1)	(2)
No. 1 or Dublin District	Upper Liffey (upstream of Leixlip Dam) Dargle Vartry
No. 2 or Wexford District	Avoca Owenavorragh Slaney
No. 3 or Waterford District	Owenduff Mahon Tay Colligan Corrock
No. 4 or Lismore District	Lickey Tourig Womanagh
No. 5 or Cork District	Upper Lee Owenacurra
No. 7 or Kerry District	Owenshagh

	Finnihy
	Owenreagh
	Emlaghmore
	Carhan
	Emlagh
	Lee (Kerry)
	Behy
	Feohanagh
	Kealincha
	Lough Fada
	Milltown
	Deel
	Aughyvackeen
No. 8 or Limerick District	Doonbeg
	Annageeragh
	Inagh
	Fergus
	Maigue
	Shannon (excluding Mulkear)
	Owengarney
	Skivileen
No. 9(1) or Galway District	Clarinbridge
	Knock
	Aille
	Owenboliska, Spiddal
	Kilcolgan
No. 9(2) or Connemara District	
100. 7(2) of Confidential District	Lough na Furnace

No. 10(2) or Bangor District	Owengarve Muingnabo Shramore
No. 11 or Ballina District	Brusna Leaffony Ballinglen Cloonaghmore (Palmerstown)
No. 12 Sligo District	Grange
No. 13 or Ballyshannon District	Abbey Ballintra (Murvagh) Laghy (Stream) Erne Eske Owenwee (Yellow)
No. 14 or Letterkenny District	Isle (Burn) Mill Clonmany Straid Owenamarve Swilly Donagh Culoort Glenna

	Glenagannon
	Tullaghobegley
	BrackyRay
No. 17(2) or Dundalk District	Flurry

GIVEN under my hand, 20 December 2016.

<u>Sean Kyne</u>

Minister of State at the Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This is not part of the Bye-law and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

This Bye-law prohibits the taking or attempting to take by rod and line salmon and sea trout (over 40 cm) in the rivers specified in the Bye-law.

FOOTNOTE

Section 57 (7) of the Inland Fisheries Act, 2010 provides that any person aggrieved by this Bye-law may within 28 days after its publication in the Iris Oifigiúil, appeal against same to the High Court.