DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATIONS, CLIMATE ACTION AND ENVIRONMENT

INLAND FISHERIES ACTS 1959 TO 2010

ANGLING BYE-LAW NO. 943, 2016

- I, Sean Kyne, Minister of State at the Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 57 of the Inland Fisheries Act 2010 (No. 10 of 2010) and the Energy and Natural Resources (Delegation of Ministerial Functions) Order 2016 (S.I. No. 420 of 2016) (as adapted by the Communications, Energy and Natural Resources (Alteration of Name of Department and Title of Minister) Order 2016 (S.I. No. 421 of 2016)), hereby make the following bye-law:
- 1. (1) This Bye-law may be cited as the Angling Bye-law No. 943, 2016.
 - (2) This Bye-law comes into operation on 1 January 2017.
- 2. Notwithstanding anything contained in any Bye-law, it is prohibited for a person to use, or attempt to use, worms as bait or to use, or attempt to use, any fish hooks, other than single barbless hooks, in angling for any kind of fish in the waters of a river mentioned in

column (2) of the Schedule opposite the mention of a fishery district in column (1) of that
Schedule.
3. The Angling Bye-law No. 936, 2015 is revoked.

SCHEDULE

Article 2

Fishery District	River
(1)	(2)
No. 1 or Dublin District	Liffey (excluding upstream of Pollaphuca dam and the River Dodder) Dargle Vartry
No. 2 or Wexford District	Avoca Owenavorragh Slaney
No. 3 or Waterford District	Owenduff Mahon Tay Colligan Corrock
No. 4 or Lismore District	Lickey Tourig Womanagh Bride

No. 5 or Cork District	Adrigole
	Owenacurra
	Owenshagh
	Finnihy
	Cloonee
	Owenreagh
	Emlaghmore
	Carhan
	Emlagh
No. 7 or Kerry District	Lee (Kerry)
	Behy
	Owenascaul
	Milltown
	Feohanagh
	Kealincha
	Lough Fada
	Blackwater
	Deel
No. 8 or Limerick District	Skivileen
	Aughyvackeen
	Doonbeg
	Annageeragh
	Inagh
	Maigue
	Mulkear

	Clarinbridge
No. 9(1) or Galway District	Knock
	Aille
	Owenboliska, Spiddal
No. 9(2) or Connemara District	Lough na Furnace
110. 5(2) of Commentar District	Screebe
	Sereese
N 10(1) D 11 1 21 D 1 1 1	
No. 10(1) or Ballinakill District	Carrownisky
	Owenwee
	Shramore
	Owengarve
No. 10 (2) or Bangor District	Muingnabo
	Owenmore
	Glenamoy
	Brusna
No. 11 or Ballina District	Leaffony
	Ballinglen
	Cloonaghmore, Palmerstown
No. 12 Sligo District	Grange

	Abbey
	Ballintra (Murvagh) – (downstream of junction
	of Ballintra and Bridgetown Rivers).
	Laghy (Stream)
	Bungosteen
	Oily
No. 13 or Ballyshannon District	Owenwee (Yellow)
	Eske
	Eany
	Duff
	Glen
	Isle (Burn)
	Mill
	Clonmany
	Straid
	Owenamarve
	Swilly
No. 14 or Letterkenny District	Donagh
	Culoort
	Lackagh
	Leannan
	Glenna
	Ray
	Bracky
	Glenagannon
	Tullaghobegley
	Crana

No. 17(1) or Drogheda District	Boyne (the main channel downstream of Leinster Bridge) Kells Blackwater (downstream of the Nine Eyed Bridge)
No. 17(2) or Dundalk District	Castletown Dee (that part of the river downstream of Cappogue Bridge) Flurry Fane

GIVEN under my hand, 20 December 2016.

Sean Kyne

Minister of State at the Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This is not part of the Bye-law and does not purport to be a legal interpretation).

This Bye-law prohibits the use of any fish hooks, other than single barbless hooks, and also prohibits the use of worms as bait in angling for all species of fish in the waters specified in the Bye-law.

FOOTNOTE

Section 57 (7) of the Inland Fisheries Act, 2010 provides that any person aggrieved by this Bye-law may within 28 days after its publication in the Iris Oifigiúil, appeal against same to the High Court.